Legion World
Posted By: Kappa Kid Kappa Kid's Dungeon of Schlock - 12/28/14 12:40 AM
I've really been getting into B-movies over the past two years, especially 80's sci-fi and horror movies. This thread is for all of us to discuss what B-movies we've watched recently or just talking about our favorites.

Earlier this week, I watched Night of the Creeps from 1986. It was a pretty fun romp and an awesome tribute to 50's B-movies. Tom Atkins knocks his role out of the park, playing a jaded detective with a dark secret. The main characters have great chemistry and you really buy them as average college students, something I could relate to being a small college freshman myself. The alien slugs are a great plot device and the effects are great, showing that horror movies are at their best when they give CGI the finger. I recommend it highly if you dig this stuff.

Rating: 5/5 stars

[Linked Image]
Posted By: Fanfic Lady Re: Indian Lad's Dungeon of Schlock - 12/28/14 01:20 AM
I adore Night of the Creeps. Have you seen both versions of the ending, Indy?
Posted By: Kappa Kid Re: Indian Lad's Dungeon of Schlock - 12/28/14 01:38 AM
I've only seen the one with the dog.
Posted By: Fanfic Lady Re: Indian Lad's Dungeon of Schlock - 12/28/14 01:42 AM
Ah, okay, there's another one, which is IMO superior, where...

...the detective survives the explosion, then stumbles into a cemetery where he expires and the slugs leave his body and creep into the graves.

At least one version of the DVD has both endings.
Posted By: Kappa Kid Re: Indian Lad's Dungeon of Schlock - 12/28/14 02:04 AM
That sounds like an interesting ending. I wonder if they were originally planning to make a sequel?
Posted By: Fanfic Lady Re: Indian Lad's Dungeon of Schlock - 12/28/14 02:08 AM
Probably. Almost all horror movies were made with sequels in mind back in the 80s.
Posted By: Kappa Kid Re: Indian Lad's Dungeon of Schlock - 12/28/14 02:13 AM
Another film I watched last night: Puppet Master